Lease extension costs for a flat: the premium, fees and what is not yet in force

By Instrukt, published by Joshua Giles. Updated 2 November 2026. How we write guides

Not legal advice. This page has not been reviewed by a solicitor.

The short answer

As of November 2026, you can still extend a flat lease in England and Wales under the 1993 Act, and the premium is set by valuation. You also pay your own professional fees and the landlord’s reasonable costs. The 990-year extension, the new valuation method and new costs rules in the 2024 Act are not yet in force.

What is the statutory route to a lease extension?

A qualifying leaseholder of a flat can claim a new lease under the Leasehold Reform, Housing and Urban Development Act 1993. The claim is made by giving notice of the claim (section 42(1)). The tenant pays a premium for the new lease, calculated under Schedule 13 (section 56(1)(b)).

The tenant must also pay the landlord’s reasonable costs of investigating the claim, valuing the flat for the premium and granting the new lease (section 60(1)). Professional costs count only to the extent that the landlord would reasonably have expected to incur them if it were personally liable for all of them (section 60(2)). Section 39 of the 2024 Act would replace section 60 with new rules on who pays the landlord’s costs, so this answer may change when section 39 is brought into force.

Since 31 January 2025, the qualifying period before a claim has been removed (section 27 of the Leasehold and Freehold Reform Act 2024, in force by SI 2025/57).

What has the 2024 Act changed, and what is not yet in force?

The Leasehold and Freehold Reform Act 2024 comes into force by regulations for most of its provisions (section 124(3)), so each provision’s status matters. This table covers the provisions below, as checked on legislation.gov.uk on 2 November 2026, when sections 33, 37, 39 and 48 were prospective (not in force). Commencement can happen at any time by regulation, so check the status before relying on it.

ProvisionWhat it doesStatus
Section 27Removes the qualifying period before enfranchisement and extension claimsIn force from 31 January 2025 (SI 2025/57)
Section 33Makes a 990-year extension the standard lengthNot yet in force (section 124)
Section 37Sets a new method for calculating the price payableNot yet in force (section 124)
Section 39Replaces section 60 of the 1993 Act with new rules on who pays the landlord’s costs (new sections 89A to 89H)Not yet in force (section 124)
Section 48Lets a long leaseholder replace rent with a peppercorn rentNot yet in force (section 124)

Until sections 33, 37 and 39 are in force, claims for flats are made under the 1993 Act as it stands.

What does a lease extension cost?

The premium is calculated under Schedule 13 (section 56(1)(b)), which turns on the valuation of the flat and the lease terms, so this page does not estimate it. The other figures below are as shown on each firm’s own website on 2 November 2026, and firms change their prices. Where a firm states VAT, it is shown.

CostWhat it coversPublished prices (firm’s own page)
PremiumThe price for the new lease, calculated under Schedule 13 (section 56)Not estimated on this page
Stamp duty on the premiumTax on the price of the new leaseGOV.UK says that on a new residential leasehold you pay stamp duty land tax on the lease premium at the standard residential rates, with 0% on the first £125,000. Its page does not mention lease extensions, so ask your solicitor whether tax is due on your premium.
Your valuerA valuation of the flat for the premiumSAM Conveyancing: £600 to £899. Gaby Hardwicke: around £400 to £900 (VAT not stated). Austin Gray: £400 plus VAT (£480), desktop valuation with no inspection.
Your solicitorThe legal work on the claim, notice and new leaseStephensons: fixed fee from £1,250 plus VAT. Parkinson Wright: fixed fee £2,450 plus VAT. Ashley Wilson: £3,500 plus VAT and disbursements, including valuation advice. SAM Conveyancing: £600 to £1,200 (VAT not stated).
The landlord’s costsReasonable costs the landlord incurs, which the tenant pays under section 60No range on this page
Land RegistryRegistering the new leaseStephensons: estimated £40. Parkinson Wright: usually £45. SAM Conveyancing: £45 to £150.

What do fixed fees usually leave out?

The firm pages checked leave out several costs (as shown on 2 November 2026). Read each quote for these items:

  • Tribunal or court work. Stephensons and Ashley Wilson both say tribunal work falls outside their fixed fee.
  • A section 42 notice served by the firm. Stephensons adds £500 plus VAT if one has to be served.
  • Lender requirements. Stephensons adds £175 if you have a mortgage.
  • The premium. SAM Conveyancing says the premium is excluded from its totals.
  • Premiums over £40,000. Ashley Wilson says its fixed fee does not apply where the premium is likely to exceed £40,000.

How do you compare lease extension quotes?

Ask each firm to set out in writing:

  • whether it includes valuation advice, or the valuer is extra (Ashley Wilson includes it; Stephensons and Parkinson Wright do not state that valuation is included);
  • whether VAT, disbursements and the Land Registry fee are extra;
  • what happens if a section 42 notice has to be served;
  • what is excluded, such as tribunal work and the landlord’s own costs.

Questions

How much does it cost to extend a flat lease in England and Wales?
The premium is the big cost, and it depends on valuation, so this page does not estimate it. On top come your own solicitor’s and valuer’s fees and the landlord’s reasonable costs (section 60). The table shows the firm prices we checked on 2 November 2026, with the VAT wording each firm gives.
Do I have to pay the landlord’s legal and valuation costs?
Yes, the reasonable costs of investigating the claim, valuing the flat for the premium and granting the new lease (section 60(1)). Professional costs are limited to what the landlord would reasonably have expected to incur if personally liable (section 60(2)).
Has the 2024 Act changed lease extensions yet?
Some parts have. The removal of the qualifying period has been in force since 31 January 2025 (section 27). The 990-year standard extension (section 33), the new valuation method (section 37) and the new rules on the landlord’s costs (section 39) are not yet in force.
Does a fixed-fee solicitor price include the premium?
No. SAM Conveyancing says the premium is excluded from its totals, and the premium is the price the tenant pays for the new lease (section 56), on top of professional fees.

Thinking about extending your lease?

Tell us about the flat. An independent solicitor you instruct can explain the process and the quotes before you commit.

Speak to a solicitor

Sources

This guide is general information, not legal advice. Instrukt is not a law firm.